Race Review: Home Run for Kids 10k

Between the races it’s been the typical marathon training / life balancing act, but in the next few weeks I’ll touch on the last month of marathon training.

Until then, a quick review of the Home Run for Kids 10k presented by Upward Bound House.
First let’s talk about what a great cause this is for! “The mission of Upward Bound House is to eliminate homelessness among families with children in Los Angeles by providing housing, supportive services & advocacy.” The people running this event were all enthusiastic, friendly, helpful, and I absolutely love running for a cause. 

I had won an entry into this race at a recent Leggers event, and despite wanting to be done with racing until LAM I did want to get a new POT for my upcoming Tinkerbell race.

Parking was easy as pie, but I did arrive about an hour early. Check in was a breeze, and the crowd size for the 10k was a perfect size. Points also for having sinks for the port o johns and not just hand sanitizer! 

The course was an out and back loop out on San Vicente Ave which is part of the last few miles of the LAM. We had just trained this route the week prior so mentally I was preapred for the hills to come. What I wasnt mentally prepared for was my bad reading comprehension of the map and I didn’t realize it was a loop course until I had already pushed hard through what I thought was the only time I’d see that hill. Whoops. But my deprives aside it was a great route and perfectly measured which almost never happens. There was one water station that was mid course, so you’d get it four times on the 10k and twice on the 5k. Really good and economic placement.

Despite my over pushing in the first half I was able to keep a steady 9:42 for most of the run, minus the two times I had to slow down because my heart rate was getting too high. I had aimed for a sub 1 hour 10k (previous was 1:04:53) annnnd in sad to say I forgot to ALSO calculate the stupid .2 at the end of the 6 miles… and I sprinted to the end like a fool and almost rallied as I crossed the finish because I went over my max heart rate. I was 1:00:22. The thirty seconds still stings… as does being in fourth place in my age division only off by 1:30 minutes. Uuughghghghghghghg. But still… hell of a PR… 

I will absolutely be doing this race again next year and encourage anyone in the LA area to consider it as well. Perfect course, great people, great cause.

Leave a Reply

